Jump to content


Photo

Stellarium 0.13

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Alexander Wolf

Alexander Wolf

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Russia, Siberia, Barnaul

Posted 12 July 2014 - 04:21 AM

Today has been released first release candidate of Stellarium 0.13.0. Series 0.13 based on Qt5 technology. For this series needed graphics card with OpenGL 2+ support.

We propose 0.13.0RC1 only for testing and NOT FOR DISTRIBUTION. If you find bugs or regress then please tell us about it.

Link for download package for Windows/OS X - https://launchpad.ne...arium/ download

#2 pjglad

pjglad

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 235
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2011

Posted 12 July 2014 - 05:08 AM

Do you plan on releasing a Win 64bit release? Thanks.

#3 Alexander Wolf

Alexander Wolf

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Russia, Siberia, Barnaul

Posted 13 July 2014 - 03:09 AM

Sorry, not for 0.13.0 because MSVC compiler broke few star catalogs and we didn't solved this problem yet.

P.S. Official binary packages of Qt for Windows x64 has been built with MSVC.

#4 Skylook123

Skylook123

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 7491
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 19 July 2014 - 01:43 PM

Is there any version of Stellarium that will run on Win64? I have an old version of Stellarium on an old Win32 computer that was fantastic, and I have used it for satellite tracking and have extensively used the multicultural displays for teaching plus driving my scope with StellariumScope, but that computer is no longer functional and my newer one is 64 bit.

#5 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15567
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 19 July 2014 - 03:23 PM

The current version works just fine on 64-bit OSes... So did the previous one. ;)

#6 PhilCo126

PhilCo126

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3239
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2005
  • Loc: coastline of Belgium

Posted 20 July 2014 - 03:41 AM

Latest version update:
stellarium-0.13.0-win32.exe
Released on 2014-07-19

#7 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15567
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 20 July 2014 - 08:17 AM

That's right, and it works well on 64-bit Windows. ;)

#8 johnpd

johnpd

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 443
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2008

Posted 07 August 2014 - 05:39 AM

Object labels are not very clear. The bottoms are cut off most of them.

 

JohnD

Attached Files



#9 Man in a Tub

Man in a Tub

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11148
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Fogpatch, CA

Posted 07 August 2014 - 02:53 PM

MAC or PC? How old is your computer?



#10 johnpd

johnpd

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 443
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2008

Posted 07 August 2014 - 11:52 PM

MAC or PC? How old is your computer?

 

One year old Win8 Pro PC desktop, i7 processor, 16GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645 video card, 2GB VRAM.

 

JohnD



#11 Man in a Tub

Man in a Tub

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11148
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Fogpatch, CA

Posted 08 August 2014 - 01:38 AM

You should report this problem.

 

https://launchpad.net/stellarium



#12 Alexander Wolf

Alexander Wolf

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Russia, Siberia, Barnaul

Posted 08 August 2014 - 07:40 AM

Object labels are not very clear. The bottoms are cut off most of them.

 

JohnD

Please open config.ini file and try add in [gui] section follow line:

base_font_name = Verdana 

and save it - it should help you.



#13 johnpd

johnpd

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 443
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2008

Posted 08 August 2014 - 11:33 PM

 

Object labels are not very clear. The bottoms are cut off most of them.

 

JohnD

Please open config.ini file and try add in [gui] section follow line:

base_font_name = Verdana 

and save it - it should help you.

 

No Help.

 

===========================================

gui]
auto_hide_horizontal_toolbar        = true
auto_hide_vertical_toolbar          = true
base_font_name                      = Verdana
base_font_size                      = 13
day_key_mode                        = calendar
flag_mouse_cursor_timeout           = false
flag_show_flip_buttons              = false
flag_show_nebulae_background_button = false
mouse_cursor_timeout                = 10
selected_object_info                = all

============================================

 

JohnD


Edited by johnpd, 08 August 2014 - 11:34 PM.


#14 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15567
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 09 August 2014 - 09:53 AM

When stuff like this happens, the first suspect is your video driver. Have you updated it recently? If not, do so...the problem is peculiar to your own setup AFAIK.


Edited by rmollise, 09 August 2014 - 09:55 AM.


#15 Alexander Wolf

Alexander Wolf

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Russia, Siberia, Barnaul

Posted 09 August 2014 - 03:45 PM

No Help.

 

 

===========================================

gui]
auto_hide_horizontal_toolbar        = true
auto_hide_vertical_toolbar          = true
base_font_name                      = Verdana
base_font_size                      = 13
day_key_mode                        = calendar
flag_mouse_cursor_timeout           = false
flag_show_flip_buttons              = false
flag_show_nebulae_background_button = false
mouse_cursor_timeout                = 10
selected_object_info                = all

============================================

 

JohnD

 

It's strange... Can you change font size and check it again?

 

P.S. Looks like Stellarium on Windows has troubles with resources management. 

 

P.P.S. Today I published first development snapshot of Stellarium 0.13.1 - 0.13.0.80, which has x64 packages with OpenGL and ANGLE editions. Last one can help you with font rendering - https://launchpad.ne...arium/ download


Edited by Alexander Wolf, 09 August 2014 - 03:45 PM.


#16 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15567
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 09 August 2014 - 05:48 PM

If Stellarium on Windows had problems with resource management, a lot of people would be having this problem. They aren't--I'm certainly not, anyhow. ;)



#17 johnpd

johnpd

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 443
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2008

Posted 10 August 2014 - 01:00 AM

Rod, you the man. Installed the latest NVIDIA drivers and that corrected the problem. The drivers I had were 1.5 years old, the original drivers that came with the system. I had not experienced any other video problems with the original drivers, so I did not feel a need to update them.

 

Thanks,

 

  JohnD



#18 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15567
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 10 August 2014 - 02:10 PM

HI John... Glad you are up and going. Yeah, the driver thing is purty crazy...you wouldn't expect an 18-month old driver to be a problem, but that's the way it is in computer-land I reckon. ;)



#19 Man in a Tub

Man in a Tub

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11148
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Fogpatch, CA

Posted 10 August 2014 - 07:09 PM

I am also glad to hear that the problem is solved. Lesson learned.

 

I was curious about Alexander's recommendation to add "base_font_name = Verdana" to the [gui] section of config.ini. So, I added that line with Arial as the font. It only changed the GUI.

 

I think the label font for the 32-bit version is in C:\Program Files (x86)\Stellarium\data:

 

DejaVuSans.ttf

DejaVuSansMono.ttf

 

That is something I am not going to mess with — i.e., copying font files on my computer as replacements for that Stellarium data folder. Might be quite unpleasant.

 

:scared:

 

P.S. What the heck! I tried it. I hid DejaVuSans.ttf and DejaVuSansMono.ttf in a folder and dropped in a copy of Arial from my Windows Fonts. Of course, this resulted in all the weights of Arial being there. I deleted all but Arial "regular" — arial.ttf It seems to work.


Edited by Man in a Tub, 11 August 2014 - 04:05 PM.


#20 tpuerzer

tpuerzer

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2013

Posted 25 August 2014 - 01:10 AM

I love Stellarium and it performs well on my MacBook Pro with the built-in trackpad (well, with the exception of two-finger zooming).

 

But... there is a HUGE problem with it on my old Win XP computer that I use at the telescope.

 

The mouse cursor is IMPOSSIBLY SLUGGISH. It is like moving it through wet cement. It is slow, refreshes slowly, and overshoots to the point I just can't use it.

 

I'm using Skychart / Cartes du Ciel as a fallback (and the mouse cursor is performing fine on that program).

 

But, I would REALLY rather be using Stellarium because it is just so much more beautiful to look at!

 

Any suggestions on what the Win XP mouse issue could be?



#21 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • ****-
  • Posts: 10891
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 25 August 2014 - 12:45 PM

Any suggestions on what the Win XP mouse issue could be?

Video drivers



#22 tpuerzer

tpuerzer

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2013

Posted 25 August 2014 - 05:47 PM

Ha, ha. Thank you for that.

 

I was going to make some smartypants remark about "ya, sure, blame the video drivers..." but, you know what... that's EXACTLY what it was!

 

Interesting that updated drivers for the laptop were NOT available on the Sony website (the manufacturer). I needed to dig around on the Intel site to find updated drivers.

 

Works like a charm now!

 

Thank you!








Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics