• This topic is locked This topic is locked
171 replies to this topic

#1 astroneil

astroneil

Surveyor 1

• Loc: res publica caledoniae

Posted 16 July 2014 - 01:59 PM

Hello,

I am not as well versed in CAT and Cassegrain culture as you are. My cultural background hails from the achromatic refractor. I have owned a few CATS in the past- mostly Meade LX series – and stupidly let go a SkyWatcher 180mm f/15 Maksutov which I never properly tested. That said, I recently acquired another sample of the same Maksutov; a 180mm f/15 Orion branded instrument and while I have not had it for long, I have found it most enlightening. Under good seeing conditions and when fully acclimated, it serves up superb images that have easily outperformed what I consider to be a luxury ‘scope – my 5” f/12 achromatic refractor. The images were brilliant, almost overwhelming, in the larger Maksutov and require quite a bit of getting used to( I’m still on a learning curve). But I am now a keen student of the design.

It struck me that those who like refractors quite often lean towards catadioptrics. I can see the appeal; - one sits in a comfortable chair looking through the eyepiece at one end of the tube and at the other end, a large ‘lens’ that collects light. To me, it seems like a natural cross fertilization of telescopic genres and I would like to explore that very idea; call it a ‘cultural exchange’ if you will between my achromatic heritage and your catadioptric culture.

Like achromatic culture, you seem to have been persecuted by individuals who seem unable or unwilling to accept that our individual choices make us content.
I would be grateful if you could tell me more about your catadioptric culture and why you like to look through them. I understand that these telescopes have some issues which seem to come down to collimation and acclimation. How have you got around those problems and once there, what makes you come back again and again to your CAT?

Thank you for your attention,