Reflections/Questions Regarding Meade

• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 WebFoot

WebFoot

Viking 1

• Loc: Redmond, WA, USA

Posted 21 July 2014 - 02:41 PM

I have owned a lot of Meade equipment, including a 10" LX200 (1998-2010); 12" RCX400 (2005-2014); 10" Equatorial Starfinder; ETX90; 102ED and 127ED with LXD650 mount. So I think it's fair to say that I have a lot of experience with their products.

Several things are constant throughout those products: Excellent optics; generally good value (at least until they break); poor customer service; poor electronics; poor focusers; cheap gearing, and generally cutting manufacturing corners whenever they think they can get away with it.

Now, I don't think there's anything evil about keeping costs down, since they're trying to occupy/dominate a particular market segment.

But I think they often take it to absurd extremes. For instance, the native focus knob/mechanism on the 10" LX200 is just horrible; full of slop and resistance. $10 in parts (retail) gets a fix that makes the focuser wonderfully smooth and effective. And why put focusers on a scope (e.g., the Starfinder and the ED refractors) that just don't work; horrible plastic rack-and-pinion focusers that have to be replaced to enjoy the excellent optics.

And the RCX400 is a spectacular example of solving problems in the LX200 line with much greater problems--the horribly over-engineered focus mechanism that breaks regularly, rendering the entire OTA unusable (especially since Meade refuses to support this very expensive product).