CGEM DX or Atlas?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 rscott

rscott

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 24 July 2014 - 04:49 PM

I'm a beginner looking to purchase my first Astro scope. I'm seriously considering the AT65edq and am wondering which mount to put it on.

I know the CGEM DX is more expensive, but I've got a way to get it at the same price as an Atlas. Which would you choose and why?

#2 guyroch

guyroch

Vendor (BackyardEOS)

• Vendors
  • Loc: Under the clouds!

Posted 24 July 2014 - 05:05 PM

Both mounts will carry the AT65EDQ as if you had nothing on it, no worries there :)

If you plan on using a computer when imaging I'd say go with the Atlas because of EQMOD.

IF you do not plan on using a computer I'd say go with the CGEM because it has a better hand controller.

Both mounts are proven.

Hope this helps, and good luck.

Guylain

#3 rscott

rscott

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 24 July 2014 - 05:22 PM

Thanks for the suggestions :)

If you plan on using a computer when imaging I'd say go with the Atlas because of EQMOD.

Can you tell me what type of benefits I'd get with EQMOD running on a computer?

#4 A. Viegas

A. Viegas

Apollo

• Loc: New York City/ CT

Posted 24 July 2014 - 07:23 PM

The size scope you are considering both the CGEM DX and Atlas are overkill. Maybe you could consider buying the VX mount and put the $700 savings toward larger scope or other accessories. For that scope the VX would perform with similar efficiency as both the CGEM DX or Atlas.

Al

#5 guyroch

guyroch

Vendor (BackyardEOS)

• Vendors

Posted 24 July 2014 - 07:57 PM

The size scope you are considering both the CGEM DX and Atlas are overkill. Maybe you could consider buying the VX mount and put the $700 savings toward larger scope or other accessories. For that scope the VX would perform with similar efficiency as both the CGEM DX or Atlas.

Al

Ah... but that is a happy problem to have. Room to grow. I would still get one over the VX any time.

Guylain