• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Jon Rista

Jon Rista

Mercury-Atlas

• -----
  • Loc: Colorado

Posted 06 August 2014 - 09:25 PM

I thought I would share an update on a recent change I made in my imaging setup. I got started in astrophotography in early February 2014. While I think I had done enough research to hit the ground running in terms of getting subs, integrating them, and processing them...I was really a total noob when it came to equipment. I had a tough time following some recommendations, such as to get custom scope rings made by Parallax Instruments (couldn't ever get ahold of the guy, over email or phone, to request special made rings in the dimensions I needed.) I understood that rings would help stabilize my scope and minimize flexure vs. just attaching my lens tripod foot to a dovetail (which cantilevers the bulk of the huge 600mm lens out over nothing), but I kind of gave up on the idea of getting scope rings after a few weeks of trying to reach Parallax Instruments. It was often recommended that I pick up some larger scope rings with three point adjustment bolts, but I never wanted to do that, as the lens is $13,000, and I have rings like that for my Orion ST80 that I use as a guidescope, and the rings have scratched the hell out of it. I simply couldn't afford to damage my expensive lens.