Trifid Nebula

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Djarum

Djarum

Viking 1

• Loc: Huntsville, Al

Posted 14 August 2014 - 10:19 AM

So I've been doing astronomy for the last 5 years or so. I've had an 8" reflector for the last few years. I recently moved a little north of the city with slightly darker skies. The Lagoon nebula in my 8" shows some slight nebulosity especially around the core. I've never seen any out of the trifid nebula. So last night I decided to take a look from our new backyard. I did see a little more nebulosity with the Lagoon nebula. I still couldn't see any out of the trifid nebula, even with a Baader UHS-C filter. Is this typical for a Red/Orange zone?

#2 Tony Flanders

Tony Flanders

Voyager 1

• Loc: Cambridge, MA, USA

Posted 14 August 2014 - 10:47 AM

So I've been doing astronomy for the last 5 years or so. I've had an 8" reflector for the last few years. I recently moved a little north of the city with slightly darker skies. The Lagoon nebula in my 8" shows some slight nebulosity especially around the core. I've never seen any out of the trifid nebula. So last night I decided to take a look from our new backyard. I did see a little more nebulosity with the Lagoon nebula. I still couldn't see any out of the trifid nebula, even with a Baader UHS-C filter. Is this typical for a Red/Orange zone?

The fact that the city lies to your south surely doesn't help; it probably makes your red/orange skies a half zone worse when viewing Sagittarius.

Even so, I'm surprised that you can see only "slight nebulosity" in M8 and none at all in M20. With a filter, under such skies, I would expect M8 to be awash with nebulosity, and visible though faint in M20.

See my descriptions at http://mysite.verizo...46/id20.html#M8.

#3 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

ISS

• Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 14 August 2014 - 11:37 AM