Meade ETX insight please

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 5RNS

5RNS

Lift Off

• Loc: Arizona

Posted 21 August 2014 - 09:36 PM

Lately I have been surfing online auctions that sell donated items. There seem to be quite a few of the ETX scopes on there. Mostly 60 & 90mm, usually in their case and most have been goto equipped. I have been somewhat shocked by the the amount these are selling for. 60's in the $130 range 90's near $200 and a decent looking 125mm went for $530. Add $20+/- for shipping.

I have ZERO experience with these scopes but am wondering if it may be worth it to pick up a 60 or 90 in that price range? I would be willing to gamble (maybe) on one if it's that big of bargain. No way am I willing to go any higher on a scope I can't inspect, but evidently there are many that will.

I was thinking a small scope like this would be great for hands on for my youngsters. Any opinions are appreciated.

#2 Brian Carter

Brian Carter

Gemini

• Loc: Atlanta, GA

Posted 21 August 2014 - 09:48 PM

I had an etx70, still do actually. It was a Christmas present from my dad and my first scope. It took my about three months to outgrow it. Goto worked though and I had a nice time. There were a lot of things I hated about it though. The mount was shakeu, and the tiny focuser was positioned like a SCT and in reachable in the tiny fork mount. I modified it with some plastic tubing and it was ok. Anyway, not a bad little toy.

The 60 and 70mm are refractors. The larger ones are maks. I would actually like one of the Parker maks at some point. I am eventually going to mount the 70 on my SCT as a wide field/finder.

#3 Ken Sturrock

Ken Sturrock

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Denver, CO

Posted 21 August 2014 - 10:05 PM