•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Newbie decisions.

• Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1 DakGibralter

DakGibralter

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 11 January 2017 - 11:42 AM

Hello everyone! Rank newbie here, looking for a bit of advice on my first setup. Apologies in advance for any and all facepalms below.

I’ve always been interested in astronomy and am pretty well-versed in the big-picture cosmology and physics etc., but actual observing is something I’m new to. I’ve been wanting to start for decades, but living in a small inner-city apartment with freelancer income has made it a non-starter until recently. I’ve been reading a lot here and in print (picked up Star Ware and Turn Left at Orion, which are both excellent so far) and as you might expect, it's been simultaneously very helpful and very confusing. Hoping you can help a bit on the latter, if you don’t mind!

First, some context:

- I live in a one-bedroom apartment (in Brooklyn, light-pollution central) with my wife, dog and cat, so besides moon viewing, this scope will be primarily for trips out of town. So while portability is key, I'd rather find room for the right scope than compromise just for something compact.

- I’m interested in both deep sky and planetary viewing - I think the Cassini division will blow my mind just as much as a good view of the Messier Objects, so being able to do both would be terrific.

- I’m planning to get some binoculars as well, which probably merits its own post. The short version is I’m still deciding, but definitely getting a pair.