Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu uh, User

Astrophotography and Sketching >> DSLR & Digital Camera Astro Imaging & Processing

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)
sharkmelley

Reged: 02/19/13

Nikon D7000 read noise, gain and thermal noise
      #5689403 - 02/19/13 06:04 PM

Apologies for the length of my first post but I hope you find it worthwhile.

I have been doing DSLR astrophotography for a few years mainly using an old modified Canon 350D. However I recently heard that on the D7000 model, Nikon have updated the infamous "Star Eater" Hot Pixel Suppression algorithm for long exposures which used to remove not only single hot pixels but clumps of up to 4 adjacent pixels i.e. stars. It now only removes isolated hot pixels in long exposures.
If you want to know more, see this post on DPReview:
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/post/37071846

However, it's been almost impossible to find any firm data on its suitability for astrophotography, so with the help of a friend who owns one, I decided to put it through its technical paces.

Taking pairs of frames at different shutter speeds of a diffuse white object allows the gain and read noise to be calculated. Then taking 24 dark frames of 5 minutes each allows the dark current and hence thermal noise to be investigated.

My results are summarised here:

The figures in bold are figures I have calculated (most of the analysis was done at ISO 800) and the rest were inferred by assuming the gain doubles for each halving of ISO.