Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Eyepieces

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
cr500guy

Reged: 12/05/12

82 vs 100 EP's
      #5555856 - 12/05/12 03:26 PM

I've got an Ethos that I bought for the FOV. It is very very nice but I've thought about selling it and re-investing in multiple lesser FOV EP's. I'm relatively new to the hobby. I have a 10" Dob. It came with the standard 10mm and 25mm ep's. I bought the ethos this summer and couldn't go back to the small FOV. However the Ethos are not cheap. What do you suggest?
I realize my best bet is to try others EP's and see but I'm curious if any have had the same experience I'm having. I was thinking of the 82 degree ep's.
Thanks

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Tank
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 07/27/09

Loc: Stoney Creek, Ontario, CANADA
Re: 82 vs 100 EP's new [Re: cr500guy]
      #5555871 - 12/05/12 03:34 PM

Tough call
I feel the 100 is nice but not really required personal preferance.
I actually prefer the 70-82 degree EPs
You can get a few ES 82
all for the price of one Ethos!

kkokkolis
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 09/23/09

Loc: Piraeus, Greece
Re: 82 vs 100 EP's new [Re: Tank]
      #5555886 - 12/05/12 03:48 PM