Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Eyepieces

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | (show all)
Paul G
Post Laureate

Reged: 05/08/03

Loc: Freedonia
Re: Why is the 21mm Tele Vue Ethos so expensive? new [Re: Jarrod]
      #5847849 - 05/08/13 02:05 PM

Quote:

The designer of the original 100º EPs, who from what I read is/was a protege of Mr. Nagler, does not appear to have patented this design. I cannot think of a reason not to do so, unless it was substantially based on the previous design (aka "prior art") and therefore would not hold up as new technology in patent court. I am not a lawyer - these are just some educated guesses as to how the legalities of the current subject may have played out.

That wasn't the reason. The original Naglers were almost immediately knocked off by Meade. The saying at the time was "Meade eyepieces, designed by lawyers." The design was patented, giving Meade the specifics of the design. TeleVue decided that patenting their design didn't serve them well, and it looks like their subsequent approach worked well for them. TV came out with the T2, T4, T5, T6 Naglers, Panoptics, Radians and Meade had no answer. And it took ES two years after the first Ethos to bring their knockoff to market.

Trying to defend a patent against a Chinese company is very expensive and an exercise in futility.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
russell23
Post Laureate

Reged: 05/31/09

Loc: Upstate NY
Re: Why is the 21mm Tele Vue Ethos so expensive? new [Re: hfjacinto]
      #5847892 - 05/08/13 02:24 PM

Quote:

Jon,

Quote:

".... I can afford to take the high road."