Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> ATM, Optics and DIY Forum

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
kfrederick
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 02/01/08

Why no CHiefs intrest???
      #5597500 - 12/31/12 08:10 AM

So all you experts Here is your question .Why no interest in the Ed Jones Chief design ? I have said about how easy to have a unobstructed large telescope with two small lens. No pro interested .Ed is not building any that I know of . Mike did a design for me but does not seem excited So what is wrong here .I have two A 20 f8 and a 17 f9 . My 17 has some improvements that helpes it sets up fast and works Great . I am a Amateur I do not know optical like these .So why no one interested in a much better way . I could care less what any one uses and am not here saying this to be braging .All I am reporting is this works great Easy two lens . Zemax says my 17 should work unreal

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
cheapersleeper
Post Laureate

Reged: 01/22/10

Loc: Sachse TX
Re: Why no CHiefs intrest??? new [Re: kfrederick]
      #5597550 - 12/31/12 09:03 AM

I am under the impression that the tolerances for placement of the correcting lenses is critical to the point that I would not be able to construct a structure that would allow initial alignment and then hold that alignment.

Regards,
Brad

kfrederick
Carpal Tunnel

Re: Why no CHiefs intrest??? new [Re: cheapersleeper]
      #5597576 - 12/31/12 09:23 AM Attachment (47 downloads)