Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> Beginners Forum

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
paulr57

Reged: 01/09/13

Loc: Asheboro, NC
Overwhelmed!
      #5615186 - 01/10/13 10:23 AM

Hey Everyone!

I'm new to this forum, and while I've owned a telescope for over 10 years, I'm a newbie! I came here originally to explore the possibility of buying another Telescope and wanted to research the choices and from the moment I logged in here I am totally overwhelmed!

There are so many threads and so many articles I just don't know where to begin. For the moment I've confined myself to the newbie forums (and looking at the wondrous images members have posted)but my basic goal remains in researching for a new Telescope.

I just don't know where to go from here. I don't even know what questions to ask!

I have a 10" Dobsonian and for years have enjoyed lunar, plantetary, and brighter DSO observing. I'm blessed with some pretty dark skies right in my backyard and no major cities within 50 miles.

I need a guide to help point me in the right direction. I don't need someone to do my "research" but need more of a pointer to the areas of this forum that can best help me.

Thanks!
Paul

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
NeilMac
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 09/25/10

Loc: MedHat, AB, Canada
Re: Overwhelmed! new [Re: paulr57]
      #5615191 - 01/10/13 10:26 AM

Whats wrong with your 10" Dob?
Or do u want to get into AP?

paulr57

Re: Overwhelmed! new [Re: NeilMac]
      #5615199 - 01/10/13 10:30 AM