Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> Beginners Forum

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
lamplight
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 09/18/12

Loc: western MA, U.S.
Re: zoom eyepiece and FOV new [Re: Jon Isaacs]
      #5672108 - 02/10/13 10:35 AM

As a noob, I'm seeing that almost every question I've ever asked has already been answered here 10,000 times. I don't know how you guys have the patience for it but I am very grateful. It's a very involved and multifaceted pursuit. So many things seem to keep coming up that you ok, I) had no idea was even an issue. S anyhow...

I'm trying to use the search button more often

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
dpwoos
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 10/18/06

Loc: United States
      #5672109 - 02/10/13 10:35 AM

If a PhD student doesn't know how to think and learn on their own then something is terribly wrong. On the other hand, most of the little kids I work with (and a lot of adults) don't know how, and actually seem to be uncomfortable with the activity (at least in math/logic). How does one get from the little kid to the PhD student? I don't think anyone really knows, but for sure somewhere in the trajectory to adulthood some folks learn how to think well, and others don't, and it seems to happen less often in the US then it does in many other countries.