Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Cats & Casses

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | (show all)
Kevdog
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 07/11/12

Loc: Desert Hills, AZ
HoTech SCT Laser Collimator?
      #5824056 - 04/26/13 10:38 AM

Just came across this.
http://www.optcorp.com/ht-act-m2-2inch-advanced-ct-laser-collimator-w-fine-ad...

As a relative newbie, I'm always wondering if my collimation is good or not. Was hoping this could either fix my collimation or at least assure me that I'm pretty close.

Anyone used the system and have comments about it?

I have a Carbon Fiber C11 (fork mounted) and would like to ensure I have good collimation!

Thanks

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Jim W. Coleman

Reged: 03/04/13

Loc: Puget Sound, Washington, USA
Re: HoTech SCT Laser Collimator? new [Re: Kevdog]
      #5824122 - 04/26/13 11:02 AM

I have used this system to collimate my 12" Meade LX90 and it worked very very well. The main thing is to have patience and take your time. The OTA must be precisely aligned to the collimation plate, but they also provide slow motion fine tuning controls that make it pretty easy. I have been very impressed with the system - mainly because I live near Seattle and it's always cloudy or raining, so I can bring the scope in from the observatory and collimate it in my garage.

Jim W. Coleman

#5824135 - 04/26/13 11:10 AM

Here's a link to a pictorial I put up on how to use the Hotech Laser Collimator ... hope this helps (and hope the link comes through ... still new here and haven't figured everything out yet ...

http://www.colemanapps.com/Wordpress/tna/?cat=46

ubermick

Reged: 04/12/12