Observing >> Double Star Observing

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
kevin M13
sage

Reged: 03/07/09

Loc: Upstate NY
Frustrating Lyra Doubles
      #3953971 - 07/30/10 07:03 PM

I was out a few nights recently including last night with mixed results on some new summer doubles. One thing I love about doubles, is that I have been observing them for many years, and I still am seeing new ones all the time and some of them are very pleasant surprises.

Frustrating ones first from last night and previous 3 nights out. As a test, I started out with Delta Cygii. Could sense duplicity at 100x in my C11, but very tight split with companion as a tiny pinpoint at 200x so seeing was pretty good in my neck of the woods. No diffraction rings could be seen around Epsilon. Usually requires very steady night and lots of mag in C11 to see that.

OS 525- in Lyra, up to 700x last night in C11, and I could not see the B component. My reference NSOG lists this as a triple. The AC components are really nice though. Seeing P5.

B648 in Lyra caught glimpses of the companion last night in partial diffraction ring (arc's) at 500x at a PA I looked up after and verified, but I would want to see it again and cleaner than this to call it split. My reference lists this one as .7".

17 Lyra- no luck. I am quite surprised I can't get this given data in NSOG. Anybody know what the current sep is and has anybody gotten this one recently? C11, 500x.

On the bright side, I "discovered" Struve 2470/2474 the other double double in Lyra for the first time. I never looked at those before. What a cool set of doubles.

Clear skies,
Kevin

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Dave Mitsky
Postmaster

Reged: 04/08/02

Loc: PA, USA, Planet Earth
Re: Frustrating Lyra Doubles new [Re: kevin M13]
      #3954069 - 07/30/10 07:47 PM

Quote:

On the bright side, I "discovered" Struve 2470/2474 the other double double in Lyra for the first time. I never looked at those before. What a cool set of doubles.