Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)
Kon Dealer
professor emeritus

Reged: 01/05/11

Loc: Cambridge UK
Re: Izar and Porrima new [Re: Silver Bear]
      #5907334 - 06/07/13 04:47 AM

Quote:

My 4" Nexstar is a Maksutov-Cassegrain style telescope, and has a usable magnification limit of ~200X. Of the eyepieces coming in the standard Celestron kit, the 6mm un-Barlowed hits 221X - I cannot use it without the image being affected.

If I run my 8mm eyepiece at a 2X Barlow, it nets me 330X - I see nothing but a blur. Hence, I can only run down to my 13mm eyepiece with my 2X Barlow for 203X - right at my workable limit.

At that magnification, I detected a split with Porrima's companion - but closely.

At this same magnification, I have yet to be able to split Izar, in spite of several attempts. But, hey! I'm still really new at this. I've seen others post above they've split Izar easily at ~165X magnification. For my own lack of results, though, I'm sure it must be an operator issue...

One day I'll see it, and like Porrima, it will just jump out at me like it was there all along.

Glad you had a really good night as well.

Sounds to me like you need to collimate your Mak. I was looking at Izar with my 6SE two nights ago and struggled to split it, yet my 102ED did it easy at x87. Last night I made sure my 6SE's collimation was spot on. Izar was a clean split at just over x100. Seeing was similar on both nights and my 102ED, did the split at x87 again

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
WRAK
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 02/18/12

Loc: Vienna, Austria, Europe
Re: Izar and Porrima new [Re: fred1871]
      #5908352 - 06/07/13 04:49 PM