Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Astrophotography and Sketching >> Beginning and Intermediate Imaging

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | (show all)
Madratter
Postmaster

Reged: 01/14/13

Processing Messier 33 in PixInsight - A Tutorial
      #6069579 - 09/08/13 01:59 PM

First, let me state flat out, I am NOT an expert in either PixInsight or Image Acquisition. This data we will be using is not perfect; it has significant warts. But in a way, that is a good thing since it will require techniques and such that better data might not. Likewise, the choices I make when processing this may not be optimum. But I'm pretty sure we will end up with a usable result. If you have an alternative you think is better, by all means speak up. I'm open to learning something new.

This is not an ideal format for this for at least two reasons. First, there is a limit of one picture per post. And secondly, the max size for a picture is 800x800. So I'll have to be reducing the size of some of the results/and or cropping them for display here.

The data itself was taken on the night of September 4th, 2013. A Celestron Powerstar III 8" SCT with a f/6.3 reducer flattener was used so the focal length is close to 1260mm. All subs were 5 minutes in length. Luminosity was unbinned (1x1). R, G, and B were all binned 2x2. Flats were taken for each of those 4 channels individually. Total exposure time for luminosity was 1 hour 55 minutes. Each color channel had 45 minutes of time. I can get by with less than that and sometimes go with just 30 minutes color. However, I like using 45 minutes when I can get it because Winsorized sigma clipping works better.