Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green GuÖ uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Mounts

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | (show all)
dgmoses

Reged: 12/31/12

10 Micron GM2000HPS
      #6251149 - 12/13/13 03:28 PM

I'm considering purchasing this mount. At $20K a pop I'd like to know more about it than the manufacturer's fluff. Does anyone know anything about this mount? Do you own one? How do you like it?

Don

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
bseltzer
scholastic sledgehammer

Reged: 10/28/07

Loc: East S.F.Bay, CA
Re: 10 Micron GM2000HPS new [Re: dgmoses]
      #6251407 - 12/13/13 05:41 PM

I've no experience at all with any part of the 10 Micron line nor do I know any one that has. But it occurs to me that if you've got a $20K budget, I can think of at least 4 more 'mainstream' vendors that produce top flight mounts at or near that price point. Have you looked the offerings from say, ASA, Astro-Physics, Software Bisque, or Parallax? If so, I'd be interested to know why you found them wanting.

David PavlichAdministrator
Transmographied

Reged: 05/18/05

Loc: Mandeville, LA USA
      #6251426 - 12/13/13 05:53 PM

From what I've read, they are good mounts, but not many in the states. For your budget and depending on what you're going to be mounting, there's a LOT of mounts out there that have long track records. I would add Mathis Instruments to the mix as well.

David

SPACEMAN
sage

Reged: 01/30/05

Loc: grömme,Belgium
Re: 10 Micron GM2000HPS new [Re: David Pavlich]
      #6252343 - 12/14/13 09:45 AM