Observing >> Solar System Observing

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
azure1961p
Postmaster

Reged: 01/17/09

Loc: USA
Re: Saturn Last Night new [Re: Achernar]
      #5877149 - 05/21/13 11:22 PM

Some of you guys are getting terrific seeing!! Glad to read these reports.

Pete

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
REC
Post Laureate

Reged: 10/20/10

Loc: NC
Re: Saturn Last Night new [Re: leviathan]
      #5877494 - 05/22/13 08:02 AM

I was using my 8" SCT. I have this one for 2 yrs. Last year when the rings were closed up more I could not make it out. Also I think my scope was a tad out of collimation too.

I have been observing Saturn on and off for 30 yrs. Mostly my sky is not that great and seeing is only good once in a while. I just got through obeserving Jupiter the last 6 mos. and was always trying to see the Red spot.

Going forward I'm going to tweak the scope as best I can and take it out at least an hour before I start. I'm looking forward to many more good nights on Saturn. My neighbors really get a kick out of seeing it.

Clear skies,

Bob

leviathan
sage

Reged: 11/29/11

Loc: Azerbaijan
Re: Saturn Last Night new [Re: REC]
      #5877512 - 05/22/13 08:19 AM

So were you able to see GRS on Jupiter with that scope ? Have you checked collimation on a star ?

REC
Post Laureate

#5878129 - 05/22/13 02:04 PM

Just once in awhile. I was able to see some of those bars in some of the belts when they were available. Yes I have collimated it on a star and I'd say it's about 90% on. I get really sharp views on the moon and can resolve M13 on a good night...I think a lot of it is because of my location and not having very steady skies. My Clear Sky Chart rarely is better than 4/5 and most nights is 3/5. Thank goodness I do get 4/5 on transparency a lot.

leviathan
sage

#5879422 - 05/23/13 12:45 AM