Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Refractors

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | (show all)
russell23
Post Laureate

Reged: 05/31/09

Loc: Upstate NY
CA Reduction filters
      #6113911 - 10/02/13 07:52 PM Attachment (151 downloads)

I have been using a Baader Fringe Killer for several years now with my Vixen 140 NA. Based upon discussions of the use of a #8 light yellow filter for CA reduction and a mention here of the Baader 495 long pass filter I decided to order a 2" Lumicon #8 light yellow and a 2" Baader 495 long pass filter. They are pictured below against a magazine page. Clockwise from top the are the Fringe Killer, Baader 495, and Lumicon #8.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
russell23
Post Laureate

Re: CA Reduction filters new [Re: russell23]
      #6113913 - 10/02/13 07:53 PM Attachment (119 downloads)

Here they are against white index cards with same order as first post if you start on the right side and go counterclockwise:

Mike4242
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 11/02/11

Loc: Memphis, TN
      #6114027 - 10/02/13 08:56 PM

Like you, I've been a huge fan of the Baader Fringe Killer. That filter makes a very noticeable difference in contrast on almost every class of object. I'm very interested to hear how the other filters stack up against the Fringe Killer. I'll be anxiously awaiting your report.

russell23
Post Laureate

Re: CA Reduction filters new [Re: Mike4242]
      #6114385 - 10/03/13 12:07 AM

Quote: