Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Telescope Specific Forums >> Meade Computerized Telescopes

Pages: 1
Master846

Reged: 12/16/10

Meade 8" Lx90 EMC Worth it? new
      #4255697 - 12/18/10 03:20 AM

Hi, I have some questions, I'm relatively new in the astronomy, I have a Celestron Omni 6" Xlt and I have enjoyed many hours of observation, but I want to improve and I'm considering buying a secondhand Meade 8" LX90 Emc by US$800, does it worth it?, I'm buying it in a good price?. Any other advice? Thanks for your help
P.S. Sorry if my english isn't good, but I am not from the U.S.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Skywatchr
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 06/03/06

Loc: North-Central Pa.
Re: Meade 8" Lx90 EMC Worth it? new [Re: Master846]
      #4255897 - 12/18/10 09:13 AM

It depends on what all comes with the LX90, and the condition of it. The forks on the LX90 are not as beefy as the LX200 so you can expect it to easily have "the shakes" any time you touch it. That can become frustrating at times so a motorized focuser is a must-have accessory.

roverich

Reged: 12/11/10

Loc: East coaster
Re: Meade 8" Lx90 EMC Worth it? new [Re: Skywatchr]
      #4256348 - 12/18/10 01:17 PM

As far as a price for a used scope goes , Skywatchers advice is spot on ..And you can also use telescope blue book .com for a referance to prices but it is out dated ..

Master846

Re: Meade 8" Lx90 EMC Worth it? new [Re: roverich]
      #4256923 - 12/18/10 05:46 PM

Thanks for the answers, according to the seller the telescope is in good condition, was purchased in 2001 and has been used less than 40 nights, has telrad instead of original finderscope, he sells the telescope with the diagonal prism, Meade Series 4000 26mm eyepiece, AC (house) and DC 12 volt (car) power cords, original instruction manual, heavy duty tripod, all packaged in the original boxes, shipping fee will be $75 and No scratches or