Speciality Forums >> Astro Art, Books, Websites & Other Media

Pages: 1
danmdak
sage

Reged: 10/03/07

Loc: NE Ohio
Edmund Scientific and Sam Brown new
      #4511326 - 04/11/11 02:11 PM

Back when I was a beginner I was captivated by Sam Browns detailed books available from Edmund Scientific. Still have most of the ones I purchased in the mid 70's and have even been able to pick up a few on ebay that I didnt have when I was starting. The illustrations are superb! But who is Sam Brown? Did he write for any other company? Did he only write for Edmund? Did he even exist or was it a group of authors/illustrators that Edmund comissioned and the company gave the name Sam Brown to? These books are still awesome to me... still reference them when I get into an area that I am weak on. To me, Browns books are the "hardware" side and Burnhams book is the "software" side of the astronomy hobby. If Brown did exist, why hasn't he been spotlighted in the astro journals? Was he just ignored like Burnham because he wasnt one of the gang ? It would be so interesting to see a biography of the guy. Anybody out there have any info???

Edited by danmdak (04/12/11 10:15 AM)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Shadowalker
Apocaloptimist

Reged: 11/23/04

Loc: Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi, ...
Re: Edmund Scientific and Sam Brown new [Re: danmdak]
      #4512785 - 04/12/11 07:04 AM

The Wikipedia lists 6 Sam Browns in the disambiguation page. None of them are authors or astronomers or scientists.

Tony Flanders
Postmaster

Reged: 05/18/06

Loc: Cambridge, MA, USA
      #4512840 - 04/12/11 07:46 AM

I just asked Dennis di Cicco (Senior Editor, Sky & Telescope), who knows everyone and everything.

Sam Brown lived in Ohio, also contributed many articles to Popular Machanics, and was famously reclusive. His house is still standing, and recognizable from some of the photos in his Popular Mechanics articles.