Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> Beginners Forum

Pages: 1
PascalR
journeyman

Reged: 11/28/10

Tasco Starguide 114 mm - tracking issue new
      #4243678 - 12/12/10 05:27 AM

Hi all,

First post here . I am a total beginner in astrophotography and I am currently using a Tasco Starguide 114mm. I read all I could find on how to properly align my telescope on the web, and I finally managed to get the "Go to" working fine. (even though the first 2 stars won't be found initially, I would have to move the scope quite a lot manually to point to Sirius and Canopus)
My problem is, when I try a 30 sec exposition to shoot Orion's nebula, the tracking will vary from average to really bad without changing any settings from one pic to another.
I was thinking about a motors issue, or the batteries going down.
Is there something obvious I am missing here?

Thanks for your help!!

Pascal

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Tony Flanders
Postmaster

Reged: 05/18/06

Loc: Cambridge, MA, USA
Re: Tasco Starguide 114 mm - tracking issue new [Re: PascalR]
      #4243699 - 12/12/10 05:56 AM

Quote:

First post here . I am a total beginner in astrophotography and I am currently using a Tasco Starguide 114mm ...

My problem is, when I try a 30 sec exposure to shoot Orion's nebula, the tracking will vary from average to really bad without changing any settings from one pic to another.

Sorry to tell you this, but your telescope cannot be expected to track accurately enough for 30-second exposures -- that's why it's so cheap.