Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Telescope Specific Forums >> Celestron NexStar

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Lobot

Reged: 10/09/12

NexStar 5SE & 6SE queries
      #5463769 - 10/10/12 12:28 PM

Hi, I've been looking into buying my first telescope during the last couple of months & have almost settled on either a 5SE or 6SE. They both seem to have good reviews (well built, compact, reasonable weight, decent optics & price) and I'm 99% decided to get one. I'm fairly new to Astronomy, but have spent several happy nights in the last year taking photos of the Milky-way & the moon using a Canon EOS 550d, but I'm intent on something better!

I appreciate that there isn't a single telescope 'for all occasions' but I'd like to be able to use it for visual work & to dabble in a bit of imaging (especially Jupiter & the Orion Nebula), which I'm very fond of). Is the 6SE worth the extra £190?

Apologies in advance if these are stipid questions, or have been asked elsewhere, but I'd be very grateful for any advice on the following:

i) Why is that most people only appear to image Jupiter etc using a webcam, rather than using a single camera exposure? I've managed to get a (very basic) image using only a 300mm lens & even captured 3 of the moons, so I assume that via a 5-6 inch telescope the image would be a lot more impressive? I understand the benefit of long exposures/stacking for DSOs, but Jupiter is very bright!

ii) If single exposure photography isn't suitable for Jupiter, has anyone tried to use HD video, rather than a webcam? (my 550d has this option, although I haven't ever used it). Are Registax etc capable of stacking HD images?

iii) If you use something like Registax, can it cope with multiple photos, as my 550d creates photos of 6-8mb, and is there a realistic minimum RAM requirement for it to run? Is 3GB sufficient?

Thanks for your help, Robin

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
chemist

Reged: 10/09/10