Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Speciality Forums >> Astronomy Software & Computers

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
simpleisbetter
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 04/18/11

Re: Upgrading from Windows 7 to Windows 8 - any probs? new [Re: NeilMac]
      #5493343 - 10/28/12 04:40 PM

I generally agree with you there Neil. The reason I upgraded was because I got in for the $14.99 upgrade deal and am not really out anything. So I can definitely recommend it for those who just bought new computers and qualify for the $14.99 upgrade. I also like Win 8's integration a lot more, especially wrt the capability to integrate my Live/Hotmail and my Google account within the apps. I'm curious to see what MS does on the phone and tablet platforms, and if their phone will equal my Galaxy Skyrocket; although it appears there's no movement in the SkySafari camp to port to WinRT.

As a former network admin, I do tend to agree with the sentiment to skip every other version, but that's usually due to cost more than capability. Vista gets a bad rap and is actually a lot better an OS than most complain about. For me Win 7 basically fixed the few things wrong with Vista while building on its strengths. Nothing has equaled the mess or folly of ME, and I doubt Win 8 will.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
okieav8rAdministrator
I'd rather be flying!

Reged: 03/01/09

Loc: Oklahoma!
Re: Upgrading from Windows 7 to Windows 8 - any probs? [Re: Darren Bly]
      #5493405 - 10/28/12 05:24 PM

Quote:

I'm worked in IT for over 30 years and one of my rules is "Upgrade to every other Windows OS". This is the one to skip.

When my Dad bought a new laptop at Best Buy earlier this summer, it came with an upgrade to Windows 8 when it came out. It was either for a free upgrade, or it was ridiculously cheap, something like $15, I can't remember. He's trying to figure out whether he should get it or not.

zeldaboy101
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 03/13/04

Loc: Maryland