Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Mounts

Pages: 1
Hutman99

Reged: 10/23/12

LS 8 Firmware new
      #5486719 - 10/24/12 09:59 AM

Hi everyone - I am new to CS, so please bear with me if I do not get this right.

I have a Meade LS 8, which so far as Optics and pointing are concerned, I am very satisfied with. My problem is with the mount which is Alt/AZ, and as a result does not track sufficiently well to allow long exposure photography. Over a period of 5 minutes a "figure of 4" track error is observed through my 12mm eyepiece. The Autostar menu includes equitorial mount option (a future development according to Meade), and when I fitted a wedge (self made) and completed polar alignment, the startup and pointing routines worked perfectly. However, there is no tracking and motor(s) do not run at all. This is clearly a setting or software issue, and I wonder if anyone else has encountered the same issue and cracked it? Some suppliers have given me all sorts of reasons why I can't do this, but I only need a small patch for version 1.6a to overcome this.

Any assistance or advice would be most welcome.

-------------

I am based in the West Midlands of the UK. Th LS8 is mounted on a pedestal and my camera is an un-modified 25mp SLR.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Mkofski
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 07/19/11

Loc: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Re: LS 8 Firmware new [Re: Hutman99]
      #5486753 - 10/24/12 10:32 AM

Welcome to CN!

Here is a link to another discussion on the same topic. Hope it helps.

http://www.astronomyforum.net/astronomy-beginners-forum/122280-meade-ls-8-astrophotography.html

Best,

rigel123