Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> Beginners Forum

Pages: 1
Hazel

Reged: 10/29/12

Help: For Moon/Planets, 8" SCG or 4.7" refractor? new
      #5500764 - 11/02/12 11:33 AM

Hi -- I would greatly appreciate some advice as I am rather new to astronomy. I am mostly interested in lunar and planetary observation and from a budget perspective I can afford a maximun of about $1200. After much research I think I have boiled it down to two scopes which seem to be decent performers and a good value: the Celestron NexStar Schmidt Cassegrain 8SE or the Celestron Omni XLT 120 mm Refractor. I know the SCG has a bigger apperture and that apperture is so important in astronomy, but it of course also has the large secondary mirror which I imagine could impact the image quality for the moon and planets (where contrast is so important). The 4.7 inch refractor is smaller but has no secondary (it is an achromatic so there will be some undesirable color fringing). It has an equatorial mount for which I would purchase the motor drive. Which one should I get? (again assume I am fine with spending about $1200 for the NexStar -- the Omni XLT refractor is less -- about $625). I provide the key specifications below including resolving power (I include the secondary mirror obstruction spec for the NexStar because I wonder if the resolving power really can be 0.57 arc seconds with such a large obstruction?). Thank you in advance for your thoughts and recommendations!
Key spec for both scopes: