Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Astrophotography and Sketching >> DSLR & Digital Camera Astro Imaging & Processing

Pages: 1
guyve

Reged: 10/27/12

cg-5 and Orion 80ed
      #5533392 - 11/22/12 05:47 AM

Will the built in multistar alignment routine of the cg-5gt be adequate for 3-4 minutes subs with the Orion 80ed, awesome guidescope ensemble?

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Don Trinko
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 07/05/09

Loc: Ohio
Re: cg-5 and Orion 80ed new [Re: guyve]
      #5533581 - 11/22/12 09:22 AM

I'm no AP expert but I know a lot of the AP guys use the CG5 with small telescopes so I think it would be fine.
Good polar alignment and drift aligning would probably be necessary. Don T.

Nils_Lars
Postmaster

Reged: 01/04/08

Loc: Santa Cruz Mountains , CA
Re: cg-5 and Orion 80ed new [Re: Don Trinko]
      #5534025 - 11/22/12 02:15 PM

Or at least the all star polar align routine , drift is still best I think.

avarakin
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 07/13/09

Loc: Parsippany NJ, USA
Re: cg-5 and Orion 80ed new [Re: Don Trinko]
      #5534340 - 11/22/12 07:10 PM

With guiding, shorter exposures(2-3minutes) and smaller scope, you can get away with some polar misalignment.
Alex

astroricardo
sage

Reged: 11/14/11

Loc: Marietta, GA
Re: cg-5 and Orion 80ed new [Re: avarakin]
      #5534342 - 11/22/12 07:14 PM

I start on polaris and do a two star alignment, and add at least two calibration stars. Mine is setup to pick two stars on the west for alignment and two stars in the east for calibration. An illuminated eyepiece with crosshairs help you get it just right.

oldstargazer
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 08/03/11

Loc: Western Oklahoma