Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Refractors

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
coutleef
Post Laureate

Reged: 02/21/08

Loc: Saint-Donat, Québec, Canada
First impression of the Lunt 102 ed
      #5534526 - 11/22/12 09:54 PM

Greetings to all and happy Thanksgiving to all our American neighbours.

As promised, these are my first impressions on the new Lunt 102 ED f|7 refractor (that we can probably call a semi-apo). There is not that many evaluations of this scope (in fact there is none) but so keep in mind the following limitations of this evaluation:

1) I just had the scope today, so my opinion may change overtime.
2) I am new to the refractor word since buying the 80mm apo from ES this spring.
3) This evaluation was done on an evening of above average seeing but below average transparency
4) I was using a manual alt-az mount and not a motorized mount
5) I am not very knowledgeable in the field of refractor.
6) Forgive my less than optimal written English, English is not my native language.
7) I may have obtained a very good unit so others should give their evaluation.
With these caveats in mind, here is what I think of this scope.

So, is the Lunt 102 ED a good buy? In short, I am keeping mine. Is it perfect: no. For $742 I never expected it to be perfect. This is not a NP101, but i liked what I saw with it.