Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> General Observing and Astronomy

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
Javier1978
scholastic sledgehammer

Reged: 02/12/09

When star hopping gets annoying...
      #5566227 - 12/11/12 04:22 PM

I have always considered myself in the star hopping side. I have been observing for four years now and finding a lot of objects with my dob became a second nature and I enjoy it a lot.

But last saturday I went to my dark observing site after months of cloudy new moons (or close to that). I was looking forward to find some new targets, but I got lost with my charts and that became very dissapointing, thinking about all the time of pure observation I was losing. I admit I didnīt do my homework for those targets in my regular roof observation, wich I usually do before going to a dark site.

Anyway, for the very first time I understood how useful a goto mount can be.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
ensign
scholastic sledgehammer

Reged: 12/16/08

Loc: Southwestern Ontario
Re: When star hopping gets annoying... new [Re: Javier1978]
      #5566240 - 12/11/12 04:28 PM

Or you could just do your homework . . .

rdandrea
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 06/13/10

Loc: Colorado, USA DM59ra
      #5566248 - 12/11/12 04:34 PM

Nothing wrong with GoTo. This is a hobby. Do it in a way that gives you the most enjoyment. You don't need to prove anything to anyone.

Javier1978
scholastic sledgehammer

Re: When star hopping gets annoying... new [Re: rdandrea]
      #5566267 - 12/11/12 04:42 PM

Of course, I just love the simplicity of my dob. Besides, Iīm not planning new investments for the hobby at the moment