Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Reflectors

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
Brett Carlson
sage

Reged: 12/12/11

Loc: Rochester, NY
Mead 16" Starfinder new
      #5563234 - 12/09/12 10:03 PM

Hello all,

I'm new to CN and am fairly new to astronomy picking back up on my childhood interest many years later.

1 picked up a 16" Starfinder this summer for what I think is a steal at $180.00. It certainly needed work and I have completed many modifications. I've Strengthened the base, added three fans for cooling the mirror, added a 2" dual speed focuser (which caused the scope to be rebalanced).

I shipped the mirror off for recoating and it was tested to a PV wave of 1/1.7 and a Streyl ratio of .327. Is this typical of a commercial mirror such as this?

I'm having the mirror re-figured by OWL labs. They promised a PV of at least 1/8 and a Streyl ratio of .950 minimum....more that likely even better than that. Then a 96% reflective coating applied. I can't wait to see the difference. Is it the difference going to be that noticeable? Judging by the numbers it certainly should but I'm a bit of a rookie when it comes to these things.

Any suggestions on reasonably priced eyepieces to take advantage of the newly clear views? What max and min eyepiece sizes would you use? Currently I have a 32mm Meade 2 inch, a 18mm Meade HD-60 and a Celestron X-cel 12mm & 7mm. Should I go lower than 7mm? I was thinking about getting a 38mm Orion Q70 and a 2" in the 20 range...any suggestions?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Brett

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
herrointment
Post Laureate

Reged: 03/12/11