Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Eyepieces

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Mike B
Starstruck

Reged: 04/06/05

Loc: shake, rattle, & roll, CA
Re: If You Had A Choice.... new [Re: Starman81]
      #5569392 - 12/13/12 02:39 PM

Quote:

I use an Astro Physics Barcon with my ethos eyepieces and think that the combination is magical!

Yup, same here! Really helps stretch the 100* bonus to cover more ground.

So i dunno... tough call. I'm relatively new to the XW realm, with a 10mm... really fantastic optics! Acid-tested on Jupiter, too, with most impressive results. That, alone, would give my thinkin' a tough run against an Ethos!

But given the bonus of its 7mm brother, to bracket the Ethos' FL+magnification range? Like Markus has recently discovered, the flex to have TWO nearby FLs to match conditions... and of such optical quality. That would push me over the edge- jettison the E!

Then, as has been stated, pick up an uber-quality (2x?) Barlow... now those two XW's can leapfrog one another towards viewing just about ANYthing up there!

That's my ... yes, mileage will certainly vary.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Damo636
sage

Reged: 08/16/11

Loc: Co Fermanagh, Northern Ireland
Re: If You Had A Choice.... new [Re: Mike B]
      #5569576 - 12/13/12 04:55 PM

I have read that the Antares 1.6x and the AP Barcon share the same optics

Deep13
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 01/25/05

Loc: NE Ohio
Re: If You Had A Choice.... new [Re: Darren Drake]
      #5569638 - 12/13/12 05:44 PM