Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Electronically Assisted Astronomy

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Sluggosalinas

Reged: 11/13/12

Loc: Madeira Beach, FL
Newbie here, be gentle.
      #5575405 - 12/17/12 09:12 AM

Hello all,

I've scoured these boards and seen a few comments to the effect of declining numbers of posts, so I thought you might not mind this one cluttering up your boards

After a life-long curiosity about the universe and our place in it, I finally pulled the trigger earlier this year and bought my first scope. If the kids are in bed and the weather cooperates, I am out in the back yard seeing what I can see. I usually have a plan (thanks to Stellarium), but have hit some obstacles. Light Pollution is the biggie; my back yard rests in a red-white zone. I measured the light dome from St. Pete and the beaches the other night and would put my useable horizons at about 25* above the actual horizon. Add in the complete blockage of the southern sky by my house (used as a shade to eliminate the neighboring houselights/streetlights) and my view of the sky is limited.

Despite all this I have thoroughly enjoyed my nights out and often have neighbors and friends dropping by to check things out. We live next to an open lot/dog park so I say hello to roughly 20 people a night and many have come over to look through the scope.