Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Refractors

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
Calypte
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 03/20/07

Loc: Anza, California
Re: Televue 85 vs. Televue NP101 new [Re: FirstSight]
      #5595550 - 12/30/12 04:09 AM

I own both scopes and have used both extensively, for my own observing and imaging, and for public star parties. My ownership of the TV85 goes back to '06, the NP101is to '10. I use them on equatorial mounts, earlier a G11, then a Mach1GTO. Of the alt-az alternatives, I have no experience, but I don't find the prospect of manually chasing a planet at 200x very appealing. A heavier scope means a heavier counterweight. For the NP101is it means a larger dovetail plate and rings. The weight difference of the OTAs multiplies. At my previous home, I often left the TV85 on the mount and carried it out to the driveway for casual observing. The NP101is required some additional assembly to prepare for observing. I now have the 101 on a permanent mount (the Mach1GTO) in an observatory, so the 85 may go back on the G11 for casual viewing. The hard case of the 101 is much larger than the convenient soft case of the 85 (see the longer case in John Rhodes' picture). The 85 is much easier to fit into the trunk of a car. I have to put the 101 on the back seat. I took the 85 instead of the 101 to Utah for the annular eclipse, and the choice spared a lot of room elsewhere in the car. My previous opinion -- which I won't retract or modify -- is my honest judgment based upon my experience of actually owning and using both scopes. The OP can weigh the various comments and decide what he deems important. I'm not sure that either of