Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Observing >> Solar System Observing

Pages: << 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | (show all)
BrooksObs
professor emeritus

Reged: 12/08/12

Re: Comet C/2011 L4 (PANSTARRS) new [Re: RolandosCY]
      #5742515 - 03/19/13 09:50 AM

Quote:

Quote:

On another front, I'm hope that tomorrow will see the comet's quoted magnitude on Spaceweather revised. While therein it is stated as currently +0.2 , in fact I obtained +2.6 this evening, which would be much more in line with PanSTARRS proving to be a difficult object to spot without some form of optical aid in recent days.

BrooksObs

Dear John, having observed this comet finally without clouds on the sky, I wonder about this 2.6 magnitude. I am not experienced in judging comet magnitudes, but certainly, from 34.5 N under totally clear and transparent skies it seemed brighter than 2. On Sunday evening we could easily locate it naked eye with direct vision as a fuzzy star, and at times we could detect a tiny tail with averted vision. No equally bright nearby stars to compare, but it seemed to be much brighter than Algenib or alpha and beta Aries (mag 2 to 2.8). I estimated it around 1, and a friend around 0.5. Now, as I said I don't have much experience, and certainly nothing to compare with your experience. But wouldn't an extended fuzzy object of 2.6 seem fainter than a 2.7 star? Just curious...

Rolando - I must admit that the degree of scatter that I am seeing in regard to Comet PanSTARRS' reported magnitude since it became visible to Northern Hemisphere observers, currently amounting to something like 3.5 magnitudes(!), has stunned me. I've not seen such uncertainty in a comet's brightness in several decades and that it should occur in conjunction with such a relatively faint comet (as compared with others seen earlier) is rather perplexing.