Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> Beginners Forum

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
dodomang
journeyman

Reged: 12/20/12

goto telescope bad for a beginner ?
      #5605285 - 01/04/13 05:47 PM

OK so there is a used Orion xt10g goto dobsonian telescope that I can buy for $465 including shipping and I'm thinking that that is a great deal but I am a beginner in astronomy. I have owned the celestron power seeker 70az for about 2 months and realty enjoy what I can see. With the 70az I can barely make out the Orion nebula so I decided I wanted another telescope and one that can see galaxy's and nebula good. The thing is I don't know the sky too well yet so I'm wondering if the goto wil ruin the fun for me. I thought about buying the xt10g and then sell it to get a used 8-10 inch dob and make a prophet. There is also someone elce who will sell me their brand new Orion xt8 for $300 shipped. And I also don't need to worry about eyepieces I have a few Meade 4000s

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Bill Weir
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 06/01/04

Loc: Metchosin (Victoria), Canada
Re: goto telescope bad for a beginner ? new [Re: dodomang]
      #5605310 - 01/04/13 06:03 PM

You do know that this type of scope can be used without the GOTO? Then on the nights when you want to use it you can. That tracking can be nice too for high power planetary use.

Bill

northernontario
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 07/01/09

Loc: Porcupine, Ontario Canada
Re: goto telescope bad for a beginner ? new [Re: Bill Weir]
      #5605341 - 01/04/13 06:28 PM

465 for a 10 inch go-to Dob sounds like a really good deal to me.

As Bill mentioned, it does both.