Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Binoculars

Pages: 1
newtoskies
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 07/15/12

Loc: SE Ma.
First time bino owner new
      #5585478 - 12/23/12 12:02 PM

Hi all

I'm new to this hobby and am learning a lot as I go. I mainly post in the newbie forum. I currently own a 6" Dob and will be getting a refractor at some time.
So after reading advice from many members about binos for beginners to learn the stars and star hopping I went out and bought my first ever binos. Now I know they are not the greatest and no where close to what you all are into here, but they are binos none the less. I bought the Tasco 10x50 zip binos from Walmart, yeah I know, for $25. Last night I used them for about 10 good minutes to get the hang of them and set the diopter.
I never knew one could see so much with binos and now understand why you all here in this forum love binos. I have seen many of my favorite clusters I always view with my Dob, but in a larger fov. Hoping to learn more about viewing with binos by reading more here in this forum.

Cheers

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
richsvt
sage

Reged: 01/09/09

Loc: North Shore of Boston
Re: First time bino owner new [Re: newtoskies]
      #5585486 - 12/23/12 12:09 PM

Welcome Rob.
I am glad you got into Binoculars. They are wonderful way to grab some quick views without a lot of fuss. Don't be too concerned about the quality of the optics yet. Get out and explore as much as you can. The yearn to upgrade will always be there. Once you've reached the limits of what those particular bins will show you, you can then plan your next steps.