Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Classic Telescopes

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Joe Cepleur
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 03/18/10

Loc: Dark North Woods
Adapting 0.965" Scopes for 1.25" Oculars
      #5628782 - 01/17/13 08:02 PM

I just answered a private message asking me how to convert a 0.965" Jason 313 to use 1.25" oculars. It occurs to me that this is better on the public forum, where others might find it.

This method will work for many scopes, but not all. Some have problems reaching focus with the longer diagonal and the extra inch or so of back focus required by the adapter. Sorry; I'm no expert on that. I've heard about it, but have not yet had the problem myself. But -- for those for whom this will work:

<><><><><>

Blue Fireball 0.965"-to-1.25" adapter has a compression ring to protect your oculars, and extra strong aluminum, allowing a thin tube to prevent vignetting:

http://agenaastro.com/blue-fireball-0-965-1-25-eyepiece-adapter.html

Celestron prism diagonal -- yes, prism! At long focal lengths, there is good argument for prisms over mirrors. 100% internal reflection, no trouble with chromatic fringes, no coatings to break down over time, easier to clean. This one should be exactly like mine, with an oddly unadvertised anti-reflective coating on the prism. Astronmics could confirm that:

http://www.astronomics.com/celestron-1-25-inch-prism-diagonal_p3601.aspx

If you need low-cost eyepieces, get 40mm, 25mm, 15mm, and 2x Barlow discounted set:

http://www.owlastronomy.com/superplossl.htm