Observing >> Lunar Observing

Pages: 1
AstroTripper

Reged: 01/16/13

Loc: Central Europe
Moon too bright for comfort
      #5635118 - 01/21/13 02:43 PM

Hello everyone

I'm new to astronomy and the first target for my observations was the Moon. The view was very impressive, but I quickly realized it's way too bright. It almost hurts to look at, and it's harder to see detail further from the terminator.

My scope is a SkyWatcher 150/750 mm on EQ3-2 mount. When I put in 10 mm eyepiece and 2x Barlow, the brightness is more comfortable, but pretty much everything else sucks (small exit pupil, blurry image, very sensitive to even tiny shocks).

So my question is: what can be done about it? I am aware of the existence of lunar filters, but how do I choose one appropriate for my scope? Some claim to enhance contrast, some are red, some are blue, etc., but I just want to see the Moon without my eyes hurting after a minute or two.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
rockethead26
Post Laureate

Reged: 10/21/09

Loc: Arizona, USA
Re: Moon too bright for comfort new [Re: AstroTripper]
      #5635160 - 01/21/13 03:01 PM

All you need is a neutral density filter or a polarizer filter. Good ones will impart no color to the view. Look on any astronomical vendor's site and search for moon filter.

Clear skies!

Dave Chapman
sage

Reged: 01/27/07

Loc: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
      #5635185 - 01/21/13 03:15 PM

Dear Astrotripper,

you have a 150 mm f/5 refractor, and you are getting a jiggly, blurry image with (effectively) a 5 mm eyepiece that gives you 150x? That combination has a 1 mm exit pupil, which does not seem too small. Before you worry about filters, you should check out your mount, which sounds not to be very steady. Check all the nuts and bolts and find the source of all this jiggling, because you should be able to observe at this magnification, and higher, clearly and with comfort. Or your optics may be suspect.