Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Binoculars

Pages: 1
Jarrod
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 01/20/13

Loc: SE USA
Smartphone apps & binocular "push-to" capability
      #5647380 - 01/28/13 03:10 AM

Last night I had my first night under the stars with binoculars - 8x50 Leupold BX-1 with a 6.3 degree FOV, handheld. There was nearly full moon plus light pollution, plus I'm a complete astronomy novice. While I did enjoy myself with Jupiter, the moon, and a few objects I found with the awkward help of my iPhone and the "Star Walk" app (which has a really nifty gyro-based locating feature), I was a little frustrated. After an hour or so, I got very tired of the awkwardness of holding my phone up with one hand to locate an object, and the bins with the other, to attempt to view it. It would have been better if I'd had the binoculars mounted (my tripod and mount are still in the mail), but trying to translate what the app is "seeing" into what I am seeing and finally getting the binoculars onto that object was not straightforward.

This experience left me wanting more. Earlier in the week, I'd remembered seeing a smartphone holder at Orion's website. So I went back to look more carefully and sure enough this clever little device is designed to solve exactly the problem I was having. You sandwich this thing between the tripod bracket and the 1/4"-20 threaded hole on the binocular, or just mount it directly to the binocular for handheld viewing. Put your phone in it, fire up an astronomy app, and use it to guide you through the sky. Cool! So I placed my order for two of these. I'll report back after I get it and the rest of my binocular setup.