Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Astrophotography and Sketching >> Beginning and Intermediate Imaging

Pages: 1
paul
sage

Reged: 04/14/05

Loc: pa
Astrotrac or CG-5
      #5650786 - 01/29/13 05:23 PM

Hello,
I have a quick question .I am just starting out in AP and I have a chance to get one of these mounts...
Which one do think I should I get???
I can't decide... A CG-5 is a great stable platform but not very travel friendly...
An Astrotrac is just way cool... but twice as expensive..
HELP!!!

Edited by paul (01/29/13 05:36 PM)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Patrick
Postmaster

Reged: 05/16/03

Loc: Franklin, Ohio
Re: Astrotrac or CG-5 new [Re: paul]
      #5652582 - 01/30/13 03:42 PM

What are you planning on putting on it? There are a number of pros and cons to either setup. Tell us more about what you'd like to accomplish.

Regards,

Patrick

ghataa
professor emeritus

Reged: 06/20/11

Loc: Central, NJ
Re: Astrotrac or CG-5 new [Re: Patrick]
      #5652813 - 01/30/13 05:19 PM

The two aren't really in the same class. Astrotrac being much more portable but without goto. CG5 is an entry level GEM that is more of a hassle to travel with (ie air travel). As Patrick said, what do you want to achieve with either of them?

Other travel systems include the Vixen Polarie (the lightest) and the new iOptron SmartEq Pro (GEM).

Best,

George

HenryV1598

Reged: 09/01/10

Loc: Houston
Re: Astrotrac or CG-5 new [Re: ghataa]
      #5656769 - 02/01/13 05:00 PM