Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Binoviewers

Pages: 1
stevenwav
sage

Reged: 02/06/12

Loc: New England
How Much Does Size Matter? new
      #5650324 - 01/29/13 01:30 PM

I am just getting into binoviewing and I have a wide breadth of scope sizes and types. I know many folks really enjoy binoviewing with their large cats. While I don't have one of those any more, as you can see in my signature, I do have a few 4" quality refractors (including a newly acquired Zeiss 100/1000!), some great Mak/newts and some larger apertures. I intend to try binoviewing in all, but I am wondering what you guys have found to be your favorite size and types of scopes for binoviewing and I am really wondering what the minimum sized refractor you found to be viable. I notice a lot of folks binoviewing with 80mm and I figure that the image would be pretty dim through that sized scope (of course solar/luna should be fine). The main reason for me asking this is that I am now going to start downsizing my collection and I know that I am geting addicted to binoviewing so I want to end up with the best set up possible. One option that is viable would be for me to sell a bunch of equipment and purchase a large apo. That would be the ultimate bino scope - I THINK. I just don't know. Any insight would be appreciated.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
EdZ
Professor EdZ

Reged: 02/15/02

Loc: Cumberland, R I , USA42N71.4W
Re: How Much Does Size Matter? new [Re: stevenwav]
      #5650465 - 01/29/13 02:37 PM

I've got 60, 80,90,102,111 and 150 refractors and 6" and 8" SCTs.