Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Telescope Specific Forums >> Meade Computerized Telescopes

Pages: 1
Pcolon1

Reged: 02/10/13

BIG newbie mistake while collimating
      #5672085 - 02/10/13 10:10 AM

Hi everyone,

I purchased an LX90 GPS LNT with the UHTC coatings second hand from a guy who had every possible accessory I've read about. I've loved astronomy thus far and thought I would take a stab at figuring out collimation. With the kit he sold me was a laser collimator. I used it and noticed the laser did not bounce back onto the target. The scope already had bobs knobs so I started to try to line it up. Being a newbie I unscrewed the secondary mirror from it's cell. No worry I thought, I'll consult the Internet! I came across an article from doctor clay about opening up the tube and servicing. Big mistake. I thought I would just take the secondary out, rescrew the bobs knobs into the springs and cell and call it a night. I marked everything except for the secondary cell. The corrector plate ended up in the right position and the secondary is in the correct position in it's cell, but I don't know what position the secondary mirror cell goes in relation to the corrector plate. After 3 hours of trying to fix this I have given up. Does anyone know how to correct this? The scope now looks like it has astigmatism. Should I send to meade for repair? Any advice would be very appreciated!

Thanks,
Philip

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
StarmanDan
Post Laureate

Reged: 08/27/07

Loc: Deep in the heart of Texas
Re: BIG newbie mistake while collimating new [Re: Pcolon1]
      #5673056 - 02/10/13 08:58 PM

IIRC there should be markings made by the factory to reassemble the corrector and secondary. If not you could try rotating the secondary incrementally then reassembling and star testing each time till you get an acceptable image.

Christopher EricksonModerator
Carpal Tunnel

Reged: 05/08/06

Loc: Waikoloa Village, Hawaii