Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Eyepieces

Pages: 1
AlbertaSun

Reged: 02/15/13

Loc: Alberta
Antares SWA(2) 7.2 or an Explore Scientific 6.7
      #5683383 - 02/16/13 12:16 PM

As you can see from my tagline, I have a Celestron Onyx 80 Optical Tube. I am just getting started and the largest eyepiece I have is a 15 mm Plossl and I do have a 2x Barlow. To achieve near the useful magnification spec (189x) for my scope I am contemplating getting an eyepiece in the 6mm range (would give 167x if my math correct).

I am sure there are other high end/high priced eyepieces to consider, however,from a lot of searching that I have done here, these seem to be good eyepieces at good prices. I would appreciate any input (am I on track for size? are there others to consider in this price range? is there one of these that I should favor over the other? etc.)

Thanks
Larry

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
howard929

Reged: 01/02/11

Loc: Low End of High Ground
Re: Antares SWA(2) 7.2 or an Explore Scientific 6.7 new [Re: AlbertaSun]
      #5683800 - 02/16/13 04:08 PM

Eyepiece magnification is calculated:

Telescope Focal Length / Eyepiece Focal Length

If I correctly found your telescope and it's focal length is 500mm then the 6mm eyepiece would deliver 83X and with the 2x barlow you'd have 166x. Relaize also that to max out the magnification on any telescope requires great seeing. YMMV but if the views with that telescope are crisp at 166X (looks like you got that right enough) you're skies are darn steady. and much better then mine. I'm happy when seeing delivers 40x per inch.