Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

Equipment Discussions >> Eyepieces

Pages: 1
AlbertaSun

Reged: 02/15/13

Loc: Alberta
5x Barlow?
      #5683496 - 02/16/13 01:05 PM

I am new at this and could really use some words of wisdom. My scope is a 500mm F6 - 80mm tube. For some planet and moon shots I would like to crank up the magnification so I can still use a primary lens arrangement. If I put a 5x Barlow in line with my camera, I believe I will achieve a magnification of around 80x (plus).

Although, this isn't a huge number compared to using some of the larger scopes, I think I could be quite happy with images that I would attain. It does cause me to have a lot of questions in my mind -

- Does this make sense??
- How long of an extension tube will I need to achieve focus? Will it be larger than the one I use for my 2x Barlow?
- Because I am starting on bright images, with an F6 tube and a guided mount, will there be any problem with "enough" exposure?
- Should I just bight the bullet and look at and afocal setup? This would come with a whole new string of questions for me.

I know, I know - too many questions (and I probably missed the important ones). Any thoughts, input,experience, would be appreciated. Oh, and one more, if this does make sense, any suggestions on an affordable, reasonable quality product.

Thank you
Larry

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
johnnyha
Postmaster

Reged: 11/12/06

Loc: Sherman Oaks, CA
Re: 5x Barlow? new [Re: AlbertaSun]
      #5683721 - 02/16/13 03:19 PM