Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Telescope Specific Forums >> Celestron NexStar

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
butsam

Reged: 12/28/12

Loc: Ohio
NexImage 5 -- yes or no?
      #5689153 - 02/19/13 03:58 PM

OK, I'm close to pulling the trigger on the Celestron NexImage 5, here's your chance to convince me one way or another...

My primary goal is to do some basic low-time-requirement solar system imaging, and learn the associated image processing.

I have not done astrophotography before, but have an above-average understanding of the theoretical issues (I'm currently a PhD student in physics, but I am more computational/theoretical).

I don't really have an interest in long-timescale AP.

I have a NexStar 8 SE, and live in moderately light-polluted skies...I can routinely see down to about magnitude 11-12 stars from my back yard (~12 looking more toward the east, ~11 looking more toward the west...somewhat large city to the west). So, that gives some indication of sky conditions around here.

The price on Amazon is around $160. (If I get a favorable impression from the forum, I'll shop around some before pulling the trigger.)

Also, any other accessories you'd recommend? Why would I want/not want a focal reducer?

I'll also post in the beginner AP forum to get their perspective, but would like the NexStar perspective as well.

Thanks!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
herrointment
Post Laureate

Reged: 03/12/11

Loc: North of Hwy. 64
Re: NexImage 5 -- yes or no? new [Re: butsam]
      #5689304 - 02/19/13 05:12 PM

Just starting out I'd opt for the old Neximage used. Cheap and easy to learn on. If you enjoy the process then there are better choices available other than the Neximage 5 for not a whole lot more dough. I've got both and can't recommend the 5.