Astrophotography and Sketching >> Film Astrophotography

Pages: 1
AlaskaIsCold

Reged: 11/16/11

Loc: San Diego, CA
An odd Question but I wanted to ask anyways. new
      #5692030 - 02/21/13 12:07 AM

Hiya!

So My name is Christopher and I am a photographer. that is to say that while I don't make my living doing photography I enjoy working in the darkroom doing primarily alternative processes.

Yeah so this brings me to my question/request. I was trying to look online for very very old images of comets those that are done using the Platinum Process or the Daguerreotype process. After a few days of searching it turns out that there are none.

I was wondering if anybody here that lives in the southern hemisphere has a Large format, or Medium Format, or 35mm Format black and white negative of Comet McNaught at its greatest and most impressive. Or if not, an ultra high resolution Tiff so that I can make a digital negative out of it.

I want to do 11x14 Platinum Process or an 8x10 Daguerreotype of comet McNaught. Some that that will last for centuries if not millenia. And if you let me use the image I can create a second one and send it since it is your source image after all.

I wish I could of taken an image of McNaught myself but it was a southern hemisphere comet and im about as far from there as I can get (Alaska). Anyways. if anyone has comments or alternative ideas, let me know!

(Also Posted in the digital astrophotography section)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Michal1
sage

Reged: 07/25/10

Loc: Czech Republic, Central Europe
Re: An odd Question but I wanted to ask anyways. new [Re: AlaskaIsCold]
      #5692204 - 02/21/13 05:26 AM

This might help you.

AlaskaIsCold

Re: An odd Question but I wanted to ask anyways. new [Re: Michal1]
      #5692208 - 02/21/13 05:36 AM