Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home pageAstronomics discounts for Cloudy Nights members
· Get a Cloudy Nights T-Shirt · Submit a Review / Article

Click here if you are having trouble logging into the forums

Privacy Policy | Please read our Terms of Service | Signup and Troubleshooting FAQ | Problems? PM a Red or a Green Gu… uh, User

General Astronomy >> Outreach

Pages: 1
Jeff2011
Pooh-Bah

Reged: 01/01/13

Loc: Sugar Land, TX
My first club outreach
      #5695790 - 02/22/13 10:31 PM

Howdy,

This is my first time to post on this forum. I recently joined a club and participated in my first club activity which was an outreach event that we call astronomy on wheels. We visited a junior high, did a presentation and had viewings through our scopes. Unfortunately the weather was not too good and had to view the moon and Jupiter through the clouds, but it did clear towards the end. The school event had over 600 kids show up and they fortunately released them to the scopes at about 30 at a time.

I had a very good first experience and enjoyed sharing my scope with others. However, a few of the parents brought younger children and I was not prepared to handle them. They tended to grab and pull on my eyepiece before I could get their attention. Fortunately their parents were good at helping me out. Perhaps y'all can give me some tips on how to handle the little ones.

All in all it was an excellent experience. If I even just inspired one kid to get into the hobby or possibly even to become a professional astronomer, it was time well spent.

Tomorrow night I will be participating at my second club event. Our club helps the Houston Museum of Natural Science with public viewings at the George observatory which hosts a 36in telescope. I will not be bringing my scope this time as the club and museum has several smaller scopes at the observatory. I will either man a deck scope or help with crowd control.

Jeff