Return to the Cloudy Nights Telescope Reviews home page

Telescope Specific Forums >> Celestron NexStar

Pages: 1
odontologist

Reged: 02/23/13

Complete newbie!just bought cpc800 because cloudyn
      #5697655 - 02/24/13 12:45 AM

I just bought a new cpc800xlt .I dont know anything about astronomy ,but a telescope as been on my bucket list for years and its getting delivered on the 26/2/2013.I made this choice after reading the forum,so thanks!!!!
Heres my questions
1- Its getting delivered by postal service and I am little worried about damage.They were originally suposed to use UPS but at the last moment for some unknown reason the canadian postal service will have a go at banging it around what should I test or watch out for when I receive it?
2-any book or web site should I go over to learn how to get going? I have already read the manual and some entries on the nextstar resource site but not sure which one is more important.
3-I assume joining a astrology club would be helpful what do look out for? there are a few in my area
4-I live in Quebec canada when is it realistic to take the scope outside (lots of snow on the ground but more importantly its cold!!!)? I have a glassed solarium ;does the telescope view through glass ceiling?
5-Accessories!!! whats the difference between the 2" and the 1.25" lenses should I get the celestron aluminium lens kit or buy them individually? I defenetly would like the moon filter and be able to view the planets and if possible deep space. I would like to see the images on my laptop (I have a 5 and 6 year old grandkids )
Ill get the 110 ac adaptor for sure.I would be interested in AP ,I guess at that point I will need HD wedge but will wait till I can build a fixed ciment pedestal as it seems its the only way to get fast set up to make it worthwhile is that correct?